CLICK ON TITLE BELOW TO GO TO PURCHASE!!!! CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at
Showing posts with label The Catfish. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Catfish. Show all posts

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Blues Legend Popa Chubby Releases New Album “The Catfish”

Blues Legend Popa Chubby Releases New Album “The Catfish”

Popa Chubby Is The Catfish. Popa Chubby sits alone at the river's edge, guitar in hand he serenades the waters knowing if the song is sweet and the wind is right The Catfish will bite. Music is the bait, music is the water of life and Popa Chubby swims deeply in the swelling tides. Popa Chubby Is The Catfish.

But Who Is The Catfish? The road is long and goes on forever, the minnows and guppies must bow to the big fish. His guitar strings are the line that reaches to the deepest part of the soul. Many rivers to cross, the Catfish knows he is the boss. The king! Le Roi! The Mac Daddy! Fat, elusive, badass, too smart for the nets of those who would try to label him. The songs, stronger then ever, paint pictures , tell stories, of love, of life, of women and of the world. The music soaring to new heights. Fearless, brave, loud. 

Says Popa Chubby, “This recording is dedicated to you. You inspire me every day. You make me want to play better, write better, sing better. I love you all, you are all diverse and beautiful and you lead my back to who I truly am. Listen loud, long and often. I remain your humble servant hopefully older, wiser, louder, stronger. I thank the almighty force of creativity, light and love in the universe. Jah Jah vibration always. Stay true, stay strong, stay resolute.”

“On his newest release The Catfish, Popa Chubby offers up 12 tunes that embody the badass attitude that defines the self-proclaimed 'King Of The New York City Blues'. The Catfish is aptly titled as it delivers punch after punch of musical inspiration drawing on 25 plus years of street smarts and road worthy musicianship. The Catfish embodies the concepts that make Popa Chubby who he is. Regal and Delicious, the recording shines with multiple flavor and worldliness.” -  Blues Magazine NL

1. Going Downtown See My Old Gal Sue (T.Horowitz) 5:42
2. Good Thing (T. Horowitz) 3:20
3. Bye Bye Love (Felice & Bodleaux Bryant, Arrangement T. Horowitz) 3:32
4. Cry Till It's A Dull Ache (T. Horowitz) 5:10
5. Wes Is More (T. Horowitz) 7:04
6. Motörhead Saved My Life (T. Horowitz) 2:41
7. Blues For Charlie (T. Horowitz) 5:58
8. Dirty Diesel (T. Horowitz) 3 :42
9. Slow Down Sugar (T. Horowitz)  6 :34
10. Put a Grown Man to Shame (T. Horowitz) 5:16
11. The Catfish (T. Horowitz) 4:01
12. C'mon In My Kitchen (Robert Johnson) 4:04

Produced by Ted Horowitz at Chubbyland Studio, Hudson Valley, New York
Mastered by Alan Douches at Westside Sound

Popa Chubby: Guitars and vocals all tracks; Drums and bass on 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 11; Percussion on all tracks; Keyboards on 9
Dave Keyes: Piano and Organ on all tracks; Vocals on track 12
Dave Moore: Drums on tracks 2, 5, 7, 8,10
Matt Lapham: Bass on tracks 4, 7, 8, 10
Tipitina Horowitz: Trumpet on tracks 3, 9
Rich Monica: Drums on track 1

Popa Chubby upcoming 2017 US tour dates:

6 - Washington, DC - The Hamilton
7 - Richmond, VA - Capital Ale House
12 - Teaneck, NJ - Mexicali Blues
13-14 - Auburn Hills, MI - Callahan’s

17 - Schenectady, NY - Van Dyke
18 - Fairfield, CT - Stage One
19 - Northampton, MA - Iron Horse Music Hall
24 - Mifflinburg, PA - Rusty Rail Live
25 - Jim Thorpe, PA - Mauch Chunk Opera House
26 - Lancaster, PA - Lancaster Roots & Blues

Popa Chubby Endorses Stetson Hats exclusively! 

Popa Chubby plays Fender Guitars through Fender Amplifiers.

Friday, October 21, 2016

The Catfish - Popa Chubby - New Release review - by Stilladog: Guest Writer

Talk about keepin’ it fresh?  Oh yeah. This album does it.  Popa Chubby (Theodore Horowitz) is a bad man with an axe in his hand! I’ve met the man and I believe this is the album he was always meant to do.
At first you will be impressed with solid blues and blues rock songs with a touch of nasty funk.  Tracks 1 & 2, Goin’ Downtown and Good Thing fall into this category.  Next comes an instrumental version of the Buddy Holly classic Bye Bye Love, the first of many tracks where Chubby pays homage to his influential heroes.
There are rockers Dirty Diesel (a touch of Stevie Ray?) and Motorhead Saved My Life and the slow gut-bucket Blues For Charlie . Then there’s Slow Down Sugar which throughout includes a muted trumpet paying homage to Miles Davis. Later this track breaks into a primitive rap reminiscent of Miles’ Doo-Bop album that received terrible reviews but which fused jazz and hiphop perfectly way back in the early 90s.  
A couple top notch originals, The Catfish and Put a Grown Man To Shame are not to be missed and the album concludes with the Robert Johnson cover Come On In My Kitchen which is terrific!
But the crowning jewel in this excellent album is track 5, Wes Is More, where Chubby channels Wes Montgomery!  It’s basically a jazz shuffle in which Popa Chubby displays more depth and diversity than anyone could imagine. Just wonderful!  

This is a GREAT album and has a little for everyone whether your tastes run to rock, blues/rock, funk, hip-hop, or straight jazz. The Chubby man offers it all up on this recording.  This album is EXTREMELY recommended by Stilladog. The more diverse your taste in music is the more you will like this album. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE"