CLICK ON TITLE BELOW TO GO TO PURCHASE!!!! CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at
Showing posts with label Friends Of The Blues 2. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Friends Of The Blues 2. Show all posts

Friday, November 15, 2019

Myles Goodwyn - Friends of the Blues 2- New Release Review

I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Friends of the Blues 2, by Myles Goodwyn and it's easy going. Opening with shuffle track, Hip Hip a shuffle track with Kenny Blues Boss Wayne on piano and Blair Mackay on drums, Goodwyn on lead vocal and ripping some tight guitar riffs. Bobby Womack's, All Over Now, gets an interesting rework with John Main on piano, Shrimp Daddy on harmonica and John Canpbelljohn on slide. Very cool. More traditional blues track, Fish Tank Blues, has cool guitar pick and slide technique over a slightly funky rhythm under Goodwyn's vocals. Campbelljohn is back on slide on Daddy Needs New Shoes, a quick paced shuffle with a snappy beat and backing vocals by Reeny Smith and Lisa Macdougall. Up next is I Saw Someone That Wasn't There (And It Was You), a blues rocker with some of the best vocals on the release and likely the best radio track on the release. With it's solid melody, call and response guitar riffs by David Gogo and nice piano lead. Wrapping the release is cowboy style track, Even Singing Cowboys get The Blues with a two step rhythm and yodeling. Jack De Keyzer on guitar and slide by Campbelljohn add a little spice to this closer.

View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 


“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Legendary Canadian Guitarist & Songwriter Myles Goodwyn of April Wine Cooks Up a Heady Blues Brew on "Friends Of The Blues 2" Album Coming October 25th

Legendary Canadian Guitarist & Songwriter Myles Goodwyn of April Wine Cooks Up a Heady Blues Brew on Friends Of The Blues 2 Album Coming October 25th

The Follow-up to JUNO Nominated Myles Goodwyn and Friends Of The Blues Due from Linus Entertainment

Listen and share "Hip Hip" from the album, plus pre-order here:  

Waterdown, ON — Legendary Canadian guitarist, bandleader and songwriter Myles Goodwyn, of multi-selling platinum rock band April Wine, is returning to his first love – the blues – with the second recording of Myles Goodwyn and Friends Of The Blues, the follow-up to his JUNO- nominated (Canada’s Grammy) and East Coast Music Award winning blues debut.

Set for release on October 25th via Linus Entertainment, Friends Of The Blues 2 has 13 original songs written by Goodwyn and a cover of “All Over Now” by Bobby Womack. As with the first Friends Of The Blues album, the new disc features a supporting cast of the “who’s who” on the Canadian blues music scene, including Jack de Keyzer, Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne, Warren Robert, Ross Billard, Bruce Dixon, JR Smith, Matt Andersen, Mike "Shrimp Daddy" Reid, Jack Semple, Sherman "Tank" Doucette, Joe Murphy, Bill Stevenson, Will Van Hansolo, Steve Segal and more. A real feature on it is a stunning duet with six-time winner of Female Vocalist of the Year at the Maple Blues Awards, Angel Forrest.

Myles Goodwyn, singer, guitarist, writer, producer and leader of April Wine, has shaped and directed the group from its earliest beginnings. April Wine has sold over 20 million recordings worldwide.

Goodwyn grew up poor and is the classic “small-town kid makes good” success story. As a young teenager, Goodwyn honed his skills playing in cover bands and began writing original material as soon as he could play the guitar.  One of April Wine`s biggest hits, “You Won't Dance With Me,” was written when he was a teenager.

 Myles Goodwyn’s voice is as distinctive and immediately recognizable as his songwriting skills are prolific. Myles and the other members of April Wine were inducted into the Canadian Music
Hall Of Fame in 2010.  Goodwyn received the prestigious East Coast Music Lifetime Achievement Award in 2008 and the SOCAN National Achievement Award in 2002. In 2016 he released his memoir, Just Between You and Me, which became an instant seller on the Globe and Mail`s Non-Fiction List. His second book, Elvis and Tiger – this time fiction - was published in 2018 and was well received.

The Myles Goodwyn and Friends Of The Blues recording earned him international acclaim and a Juno nomination for Blues Recording of the Year 2019. The recording won the East Coast Music Award for Blues Recording of the Year in 2019.

Not a bad start to a blues career and his first blues recording effort at age 70 or at any age!

Goodwyn was committed to making his follow up recording, Myles Goodwyn and Friends Of The Blues 2, using the same logic as his blues debut release; “I wanted to write some good blues tunes and sing these tunes as best that I could. I really appreciate great blues material because it is timeless, it is vital and it’s passionate, even heartbreakingly so,” says Goodwyn. His decision to use only “real blues players” was again, deliberate; “I wanted the real deal when it came to the performances."

The result of these collaborations is testament to the care that went into Myles Goodwyn and Friends Of The Blues 2 and will surely show, yet again, that Myles Goodwyn is not only a gifted blues singer/songwriter and musician, but also a real blues man at heart.

Myles Goodwyn and Friends Of The Blues 2 Track List 

01 - Hip Hip

02 - Like A Dog Ain't Had Its Day

03 - Over Now

04 - You Got It Bad

05 - Fish Tank Blues

06 - Speedo (Revisited)

07 - Daddy Needs New Shoes

08 - Being Good

09 - I Love My Guitar

10 - Help Me Baby

11 - When Your Ship Came In (I Was At The Airport Drinking)

12 - Sick And Tired (Of Being Sick And Tired Over You)

13 - I Saw Someone That Wasn't There (And It Was You)

14 - (Bonus Track) Even Singing Cowboys Get The Blues