CLICK ON TITLE BELOW TO GO TO PURCHASE!!!! CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at
Showing posts with label For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters). Show all posts
Showing posts with label For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters). Show all posts

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Severn Records artist: Mud Morganfield & Kim Wilson - For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters) - New Release review

I just received the newest release (August 19, 2014), For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters) by Kim Wilson and Mud Morganfield and it is a super tribute for (Muddy Waters) Morganfield's 100th Birthday. Opening with Gone To Main Street, Mud and Wilson are kicking in right out of the gate. Morganfield, who's vocal style is quite similar to his father's gets things going and Wilson is in top form. Billy Flynn and Rusty Zinn are on guitar and there are some nice riffs on this track. Barrelhouse Chuck holds down the piano line and Robb Stupka holds tight on drums. Steve Gomes on bass lays down a solid bottom on Just To Be With You which is richly adorned by Chucks piano work. Kim Wilson is on top of his game throughout this session. Both on tone and phrasing, his touch is just right. Willie Dixon's I Don't Know Why is the exact feel that comes to mind when you mention Muddy Waters and Wilson, Flynn and Zinn roll it tight! I Want You To Love Me captures Mud at his best with super vocal styling. On Still A Fool, one of my personal favorites, Wilson and Morganfield play a nice hand delivering the richness of the original. On My Dog Can't Bark, Wilson opens the door but Flynn and Zinn step in with some loose flaming slide work reminiscent of Muddy's own work. She's Got It is a powerful Morganfield composition and the band sets a hard stage for Mud and Wilson to do their thing. Very nice! On I Love The Life I Live, I Live The Life I Love; the band delivers a solid cover of the original and both Chuck and Wilson step out with nice highlights. On Waters classic, Blow Wind Blow, you become acutely aware of just how long it's been since Muddy has been with us. His son and the Chicago gang assembled here do a great job of capturing the spirit of Mr Waters. Nineteen Years Old ... now you're stepping into sacred territory and Mud really does a nice job of delivering. Excellent backing by Chuck and Wilson and super guitar soloing by Flynn makes this one of my favorites on this release. Another Willie Dixon composition, I Want To Be Loved has a real feel and Wilson's particular harmonic style on this track is specifically effective. Chuck always delivers in great style and the band is super tight. Trouble No More, another of my favorites on the release, really captures the spirit with Wilson really blowing up a storm. I Just Want To Make Love To You doesn't vary far from the original but Chuck and Wilson do really excellent job instrumentally. Wrapping the release is She Moves Me and Flynn is back on slide. This track has all of the feel of the balance of the release wrapped up into one and is a super capper for a very nice tribute to one of the absolute kings of the blues!

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”


Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Mud Morganfield & Kim Wilson Join Forces on "For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters)," Coming August 19 on Severn Records

                Mud Morganfield & Kim Wilson Join Forces on For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters), Coming August 19 on Severn Records

The Duo Salutes the 100th Anniversary of Mud’s Legendary Father’s Birth with 14 Songs Backed by an All-Star Band Channeling the Classic Chicago Blues Sound

ANNAPOLIS, MD – Severn Records announces an August 19 release date of For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters), a very special CD from Mud Morganfield, son of the legendary bluesman, and Kim Wilson, singer/harmonica player of the iconic roots group, The Fabulous Thunderbirds, saluting the classic blues music of Mud’s father in the 100th anniversary year of his birth.

The genesis for this recording project was simple, according to Severn president David Earl. “I couldn’t ignore all the requests,” he said. “After we released Mud Morganfield’s Son of the 7th Son album and The Fabulous Thunderbirds’ On the Verge disc, the phone was ringing off the hook and the inbox was flooded with emails. The topic was always the same: ‘You have to get Mud and Kim to do an album together!’ So, after all the prodding, I picked up the phone and asked both Mud and Kim if they would like to do an album together. They resoundingly said, ‘yes!’”

In addition to Mud Morganfield’s vocals, which bear an uncanny resemblance to his late father’s sound, and Kim Wilson’s award-winning harmonica work, the duo are backed by an all-star team of players schooled in the Chicago-style of blues playing: Billy Flynn and Rusty Zinn (guitars), Barrelhouse Chuck (piano), Steve Gomes (bass) and Robb Stupka (drums). The album was produced by David Earl and Steve Gomes and recorded at Severn Sound Studios in Annapolis, Maryland.

In keeping with the organic nature of classic blues music recordings, the For Pops album tracking took on the feel of a late night jam session. “We began with an old-fashioned ‘house party’ in our studio,” recalled David Earl. “Attendees included friends and family from all over the mid-Atlantic region, who were treated to a wonderful performance by Mud and Kim, along with some barbeque and spirits. The next day, the overall thought was to record the album ‘live’ in the studio and capture the feel we had at the party. All the instruments were recorded together in the same room in order to truly capture the interplay between the musicians. Mud was isolated so we could put the best possible sound to tape. We spent four days recording and actually mixed it at the end of the week with all the musicians present. It was a whirlwind, but at the end of the day, everyone agreed that ‘Pops” would be proud.”

Facing the daunting task of which Muddy Waters songs from his vast catalogue to include on For Pops, the mutual decision was made to record some of Muddy’s better-known tunes, but also some lesser-known ones that would demonstrate the vibrant scope of how encompassing was the legend’s blues repertoire. The rest of the players chosen for the sessions were all hand-picked by Mud, Kim and David Earl based not only on their musical chops, but their feel for playing this music within the classic Chicago blues ensemble format.

“I would like to thank everyone who has put so much into the making of this album,” said Mud Morganfield during the sessions. “It’s coming up on my Dad’s 100th birthday and that makes me even more proud to be a part of this great release. I thank all blues lovers and fans around the world; the music we make today always comes to you and history.”

To stream the album’s lead-off track, “Gone to Main Street,” click here:

For more information, visit

For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters) Track Listing

1. Gone to Main Street
2. Just to Be With You
3. I Don't Know Why
4. I Want You to Love Me
5. Still a Fool
6. My Dog Can't Bark
7. She's Got It
8. I Love the Life I Live, I Live the Life I Love
9. Blow Wind Blow
10. Nineteen Years Old
11. I Want to Be Loved
12. Trouble No More
13. I Just Want to Make Love to You
14. She Moves Me