CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at
Showing posts with label Nothin' But Blood. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Nothin' But Blood. Show all posts

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Bloodshot Records artist - Nothin' But Blood - Scott H Biram - New Release Review

I've just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Nothin' But Blood, by Scott H. Biram and it's really cool. Opening with Slow and Easy, Biram finger picks his way through a authentic western (cowboy) sounding track with not only clever dexterity but with an authoritative voice. Gotta Get To Heaven has a springy country feel with acoustic guitar and tambourine. Country riffs are inserted on electric guitar and Biram rattles off lyrics in a rhythmic pattern. Sounding like he's playing the track just for me and possibly a small intimate crowd gives the song a real personal feel. Alcohol Blues has a rockier feel with gruff vocals. You can just hear the the track getting ready to burst through the grind of the electric guitar and amp. A one man band, overdubbed electric guitar for soloing is necessary but cool. A nicely composed bar track this is a real ass kicker. Great sound. Never Comin' Home is a sweet ballad with traditional style country guitar playing. Biram had a very cool voice and it is nicely showcase along with his painterly lyrical writing on this track. Only Whiskey has a punky sound not unlike a blend of the Pixies and the White Stripes or a light version of the Dwarfs. I really like this track and regardless of the comparison, this track sounds extremely fresh. Jack Of Diamonds is the bluesiest track so far with slide guitar (resonator) and simple percussion with hill country style vocals. A good story teller, Biram could ride this train for quite some time, keeping his slide work efficient but vibrant. I especially like his explosive attack near the end of the track. Excellent! Nam Weed is an acoustic ballad showing an introspective view of life and loneliness (not unlike Neil Young from Gold Rush era). Backdoor Man, a rework of Willie Dixon's with a twist of Doors,track is very cool with almost "Wolf" like vocals. A simple, cool blues track with rudimentary guitar work is very effective. Church Point Girls is a rowdy punky blues track with a great driving guitar riff. With a lot of edge, and over driven guitar, I love this track. Settling back into an easy country style, Biram has the release at his fingertips, controlling a mack truck like a tonka toy. Supplementing his vocals and fluid guitar work with harp, this is another very cool track. Around The Bend opens with a very primitive sound like hill country. Leading to an electric barrage of great riffs and over driven metal sounding vocals, Biram wields a lot of power with just one instrument and his own voice. Going from the simplest of tiny acoustic sounds to the most over driven...Very cool. I'd like to see this in concert! Amazing Grace is done acapella with harp. Simple and straight forward. When I Die is a simple country ballad that could garner decent airplay if pushed. Done in a country/gospel style this is nicely done. Wrapping the release is classic blues track John The Revelator. Sung in matched vocals and in spiritual style and accompanied by slide and tambourine, the track has texture and grit. A very cool conclusion to a very cool release!

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page. I use Facebook to spread the word about my blog (Now with translation in over 50 languages). I will not hit you with 50 posts a day. I will not relay senseless nonsense. I use it only to draw attention to some of the key posts on my blog each day. In this way I can get out the word on new talent, venues and blues happenings! - click Here Get Facebook support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE


Thursday, November 21, 2013

Scott H. Biram Announces New Album “Nothin’ But Blood,” Out On 2/4/14

Scott H. Biram Announces New Album “Nothin’ But Blood,” Out On 2/4/14

Launches New Song Stream + Record Store Day 7”
For “When I Die”

"The one-man band is a tour-de-force of gutbucket guitar squabble, vocals so feral they'll make you lock your doors at night, and a live set that goes down like a cocktail of whiskey, amphetamines and black-humored despair." — LA Times


Scott H. Biram ( will release a new album Nothin’ But Blood on February 4, 2014. The full-length is Biram’s ninth overall album and fifth with Bloodshot Records. You can preorder the album here:

Paste Magazine announced the album’s release date and details, and is currently premiering an exclusive track from the forthcoming album, “When I Die.” The song will also be available in physical form as an exclusive 7” vinyl release (b/w “John The Revelator”) for Record Store Day on November 29th.  You can preorder the 7” here:

Listen to “When I Die”:

Nothin’ But Blood was recorded at Biram’s home studio and Cacophony Studios in Austin, TX – the first time he recorded at an outside facility in several releases. The album features The Dirty Old One Man Band’s distinct songwriting cocktail, encompassing a penchant for sludge metal, the raw sucker punch of punk rock, profound truths of sentimental acoustic blues and country, the cleansing power of gospel hymns and spiritual ballads, and folk tales from the early 20th century.

When you boil it all down in a simmering cauldron, Nothin’ But Blood is storytelling about wrongdoing and redemption. Scott H. Biram’s music is from the soul, for the soul, of the soul – and with this album, the spiritual buckshot lodges deeper than ever.

In support of the new album, Scott will be touring nationwide in February and March with Larry and His Flask, with details to be announced soon.

Nothin’ But Blood track listing:
1. Slow & Easy
2. Gotta Get To Heaven
3. Alcohol Blues
4. Never Comin’ Home
5. Only Whiskey
6. Jack of Diamonds
7. Nam Weed
8. Backdoor Man
9. Chuch Point Girls
10. I’m Troubled
11. Around The Bend
Gospel bonus tracks:
12. Amazing Grace
13. When I Die
14. John The Revelator (featuring Jesse Vain)


More about Scott H. Biram: