CLICK ON TITLE BELOW TO GO TO PURCHASE!!!! CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Master slide guitarist and songwriter John Campbelljohn releases 'Chin Up'

Release date: March 10, 2015  
Multiple award winning East Coast blues guitarist John Campbelljohn is set to release his 12th album, titled Chin Up on March 10, 2015.
A master slide guitarist and songwriter, Campbelljohn hails from Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, and over the course of his four decade-long career has won or been nominated for countless music awards including Maple Blues Awards, East Coast Music Awards, Real Blues Awards, Music Nova Scotia Entertainer Of The Year, Blues Recording Of The Year & Musician Of The Year. 
His newest release, Chin Up features 12 original tracks covering a myriad of topics and sub-genres all highlighting Campbelljohn’s prowess as a guitarist and vocalist.  From the up-beat opening number “The Mumble Boogie” the progressive blues sounds of “Meet My Maker”, the rocking blues track “Castaway”, and the folk blues based “How Stupid Is That”, Cambelljohn proves with each song why Blues Revue Magazine deemed him a “guitar-god-in-the-making”.
During his career John Cambelljohn has been featured on recordings and live shows that include names like Sting, Joni Mitchell, Emmy Lou Harris, Leonard Cohen, Joe Ely, Willie Nelson, Robben Ford & Alvin Lee (Ten Years After) as well as TV productions by Sony Music Entertainment. Rich vocals and distinctive slide guitar playing has made him a favourite at music festivals in eastern Canada & Europe.
John Campbelljohn’s sophisticated and progressive approach to song writing gives him a distinctive edge, mixing rock, blues, reggae, Celtic & country into his signature style. The result is a sound that can pummel the audience into submission one moment, while captivating them with its subtlety the next.
@j _cambelljohn     /john.campbelljohn.7

Track List:
1. The Mumble Boogie - 3:04
2. I Got It All - 3:18
3. Meet My Maker - 3:51
4. The Poor Man Pays  - 4:15
5. Castaway - 2:26
6. Attitude - 2:32
7. How Stupid Is That  - 3:34
8. Stop Making Excuses  - 4:40
9. Sally In The Alley - 3:50
10. Fantastico Supremo - 3:57
11. Good Morning Mr. Blue Sky - 3:19
12. She’s Gone - 3:49
"The standard of John Campbelljohn's slide guitar playing is raised to a new record high." - Rolling Stone, Germany
"It is difficult to find a good slide guitarist, who stands out from the crowd - one who manages to do so is Nova Scotian John Campbelljohn." - Blues Bytes, USA
"John's raw singing and his truly convincing guitar, particularly the slide passages, are a feast for the ears, have real class." - Blues News Magazine, Germany

No comments:

Post a Comment