CLICK ON TITLE BELOW TO GO TO PURCHASE!!!! CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Deep Texas Blues - Ruff Kutt Blues Band - FREE TRACK

Deep Texas Blues featuring Zac Harmon, Finis Tasby, and Anson Funderburgh

Texan James Goode describes himself as an “old rascal and beat-up coach," but this Rockabilly Hall-Of-Fame inductee, songwriter, bass player, and creator of the Ruff Kutt Blues Band certainly knows how to field one hell of a Blues team.  THAT’S WHEN THE BLUES BEGINS features fourteen songs written or co-written by Goode, performed by world class Bluesmen including vocalist/guitarist Zac Harmon, vocalist Finis Tasby, and producer/guitarist Anson Funderburgh.   

The first Ruff Kutt Blues Band album, Mill Block Blues (2011), garnered critical raves and was so successful that Goode was able to donate $10,000 of proceeds to the Blues Foundation’s HART Fund, providing relief to Blues musicians in need.  When he decided to do a follow up, it went without saying that the first call would go out to Texas Blues guitar hero Anson Funderburgh, who anchored the first CD.  Anson was quick to sign on to produce the new CD, and soon they brought in internationally acclaimed Blues heavyweights Zac Harmon and Finis Tasby to form the nucleus of the team for THAT’S WHEN THE BLUES BEGINS. Rounding things out are Wes Starr on drums, Ron Jones on saxophone, and keyboardist/engineer Gentleman John Street.

This all-star aggregation hits a deep Blues groove and delivers Goode’s songs with the assured, relaxed intensity of seasoned pros.  Sadly, these sessions are the last recordings Finis Tasby completed before suffering a debilitating stroke in December, 2012.  His many friends and fans have been sending prayers, support, and their hopes for his recovery.

Zac Harmon, James Goode, Finis Tasby, Anson Funderburgh

01.  Deep Elam Blues
02.  Blues In My Blood
03.  Don’t It Make You Cry
04.  Oh Woman
05.  Down So Low
06.  Bare Foot Blues
07.  Blues Ain’t A Color
08.  That’s When The Blues Begins
09.  That Woman Gives Me Fever
10.  I’m Over You Woman
11.  Going To Bluesville
12.  Touched By Her Flame
13.  Let’s Dance
14.  When A Bluesman Goes To Heaven
"The triple-threat of Harmon, Tasby and Funderburgh chase the blues away with an ease that belies their total artistic command."  — Dave Rubin


No comments:

Post a Comment