CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!


Please email me at Info@Bmansbluesreport.com
Showing posts with label Blues review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Blues review. Show all posts

Friday, June 24, 2022

Ryan Lee Crosby - Winter Hill Blues - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Winter Hill Blues, from Ryan Lee Crosby and I like it. Opening with I'm Leaving, Crosby captures the Hill Country sound accompanying himself on guitar and backed by George Sluppick on drums and Mark Edgar Stuart on bass.   Title track, Winter Hill Blues is a really cool track showing Crosby's inclination to sing with a falsetto not unlike Skip James, his own natural voice actually being quite smooth. Crosby accompanies himself on guitar only and his guitar playing shows distinct Mali influence. Very nice. Going To Bentonia is another track that specifically caught my attention with particularly clean guitar playing, harmonic guitar tones and  falsetto vocals over a Hill Country style. Wrapping the release is Rev Robert Wilkins' Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down with Crosby on slide resonator and his natural voice. This is a really clean acoustic blues and a solid closer. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Thursday, June 23, 2022

Endless Blues Records artist: Lew Jetton & 61 South - Deja Hoodoo - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Deja Hoodoo, by Lew Jetton & 61 South and it's a solid blues rocker. Opening with Two Lane Road, band leader Lew Jetton's vocals have grit and swagger and his guitar lead is notable. With another solid guitar player in Sam Moore, Dan Bell on keys, guitar and bass, Erik Eicholtz on drums and Greg Walker on bass this band has a strong flavor of Skynyrd without any of the stale after taste of 1980. Waffle House Woman is a clever rag style blues with an easy delivery. With country blues style picking and light percussion, and the addition of Bob Lohr on keys this is surely a crowd favorite. JD Wilkes on harmonica opens Betcha, a romping boogie with a great driving beat. I can just see my pal Stilladog whistling this one and increasing the tempo as he goes with blazing slide guitar and Fred Hoover on keys. Really nice. Swampy, I Been Cheated, has the great feel of a CCR track and Jetton's vocals hard work on guitar really pay off on this, one of my favorites on the release. Move On Yvonne is another great rocker with the addition of some terrific vocals by Miranda Louise. I love the harmonica work of Wilkes on this track and the overall groove is really strong. Sandy Lee digs in deep with the feeling of old school blues. Jetton's vocals, coupled with Wilkes on harmonica, James Sullivan on bass, and some real nice piano riffs by J Solon Smith on piano give this track a feel of authenticity. Easy shuffle, State Line Blues and a cool swinging pace and Jetton's vocals fall right into the groove. With Hoover on keys, Wilkes on harmonica and cool guitar riffs, this is another memorable track. Slow blues, Drinking Again is sure to hit home with a number of listeners with it's warm guitar chords and some of  Jetton's most soulful vocals on the release. Straight forward, melodic guitar lead, a cool bass line by Walker and tight rhythm by Eicholtz make this track another favorite. Wrapping the release is rocking boogie, Will I Go To Hell, with a simple bass line and drums. Jetton leads the drive on vocal and rhythm guitar and Wilkes adds tension on harmonica. This is a strong endless boogie in the flavor of John Lee Hooker and a great closer for a very enjoyable release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

LeVee Town - Trying To Keep My Head Above Water - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Trying To Keep My Head Above Water, from Levee Town and it's a lot of fun. Opening with The Music Martyr, Levee Town, led by Brandon Hudspeth on vocal and guitar shows a bit of country influence but still rooted in the blues and rock. With Jacque Garoutte on bass and vocal and Adam Hagerman on drums, this is a solid, energetic opener. Little Milton's Lookin For My Baby has a traditional blues shuffle feel and Hudspeth's guitar work really rolls in the groove. Outside Child is a great blend of Bob Wills, Dan Hicks and Freddie King. With it's up tempo swing feel, lively vocals and fluid guitar riffs, this is one of my favorites on the release. Tarantino is a surf tune giving Hudspeth a wide range to lay in a lot of really nice stylized riffs. His naming the track Tarantino has to be a nod to QT's use of surf tracks in his movies and Levee Town really does an excellent job of spicing up this release. another strong track is She Might Kill You with cool vocal work by Hudspeth and Garoutte and really excellent guitar flash by Hudspeth. Stiff bottom accents by Hagerman and cool bass riffs by Garqotte really carry the track. Wrapping the release is Freddie King's classic The Stumble with unadorned King style riffs. This really is a cool release with a bit for everyone. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Tuesday, June 21, 2022

Many Hats Records artist: Michael Rubin - I'll Worry If I Wanna - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, I'll Worry If I Wanna, from Michael Rubin and I really like it. Opening with Little Rabbit, a cool shuffle. With an intro that parrots the Bunny Hop, Michael Rubin on lead vocal and harmonica sets a cool stage. Rubin has a great combination with his full harmonica voice and his own voice adds to the texture. Mike Keller on slide really does a great job backed by Michael Archer on bass, Mark Hays on drums and Emily Gimble on keys. Great opener. Go Milk Your Own Cow is a clever track with a zydeco feel. Rubin's vocal and harmonica is front and center but super adds by Dr. Sick on fiddle and Keller on guitar really make this track shine. With a rumba beat, Can We Break Up Again, is a really cool track with cool lyrical twists. Hays' drums pave the way but it's Rubin's wacky vocals and harmonica riffs that set this track out. Very cool. Blues jam and title track, I'll Worry If I Wanna really has a driving shuffle beat, lead by Keller on guitar, a great walking bass line by Archer and leading into a great harmonica blast by Rubin. Excellent! Slow blues, Chain Letter Blues has a much more serious approach, underpinned by Gimble on keys and Hays on drums. Rubin on lead vocal delivers the word and Keller takes a real nice guitar solo, leading into a nicely phrased solo by Rubin as well. Very nice. Wrapping the release is shuffle, Fourth Coast, which gives Rubin one last chance to blow the harmonica out. Rubin has a real nice hand at harmonica with fat tone, great harmonicas and interesting phrasing (and a sense of humor). Loved this release. Check it out! 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Monday, June 20, 2022

Gritbiscuit Records artist: Christopher Lockett - At The Station - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, At The Station, from Christopher Lockett and it's a cool blend of country, folk, rock and blues. Opening with The Reckoning, Christopher Lockett hits square on with military like precision. His vocals are strong and rugged and his electric guitar playing is crisp and bluesy. Joined by Fernando Perdomo on bass and drums and Kitten Kuroi on backing vocals this is a solid opener. Rocker, Bring Your Love On Home To Me is a solid radio style alt rock track. It really puts me in mind of Frank Black with a strong melody, country sensitivity, with Perdomo on keys and drums and understated guitar lead. Very nice. Kicking the country up another notch Wet A Line with Scarlet Rivera on violin and the addition of Kuroi on vocal harmony is a cool, country 2 stepper. Blues For Deford Bailey is a super track with Lockett on harmonica commemorating Bailey, the Grand Old Opry standout harmonica player. With solid train style harmonica playing and loose drumming by Perdomo this track fits perfectly. Country rocker, E Pluribus Unum is as straight forward as it gets with a great rhythm and melody and some flashy country style riffs. Closing with a Bo Diddley beat, Sweat Work features Lockett on vocal and harmonica,  Korey Simone on slide dobro and Perdomo on bass and drums. With a taste of Stones, solid closer for a really interesting release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Friday, June 17, 2022

Gearbox Records artist: Binker Golding - Dream Like A Dogwood Wild Boy - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release (June 17, 2022), Dream Like A Dogwood Wild Boy, from Binker Golding and it's a blend of rural blues and city jazz. Opening with (Take Me To The) Wide Open Lows with it's delta blues national steel guitar sounds by Billy Adamson, moving quickly to contemporary jazz with Sarah Tandy on piano, Sam Jones on drums, Daniel Casimir on bass and featuring Binker Golding on tenor sax. This track has many faces after switching from the purity of the delta to the slickest of the city soft jazz and finally to some really nice improvisational lines by Golding and Tandy. Love Me Like A Woman is a real interesting fusion with blues bones. Although Golding has the framing of contemporary riffs, his sensitivity runs to blues phrasing and terrific sax runs. Adamson steps up with some gritty blues phrasing of his own on guitar and with aggressive drum work by Jones, this is my favorite track on the release.  Some of the titles on this release have quite a bit of thought...take " Howling and drinking in god's own country". With Adamson on slide dobro and snappy New Orleans drumming by Jones this track really takes off. Golding has a real feel for improvisation. I don't always dig his central theme phrasing, but when he breaks away...watch out. Tandy pushes driving phrases on piano making this yet another really fine track. Wrapping the release is a more quiet and deliberate, All out of fairy tales with solid sax and piano melody lines. Cool steel guitar accompaniment work by Adamson and always exceptional drumming by Jones spices the work nicely. Solid closer to a curiously cool release.  


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Stony Plain Records artist: Ronnie Earl & The Broadcasters - Mercy Me - New Release Review


 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Mercy Me, from Ronnie Earl & the Broadcasters and it's strong. Opening with Muddy Waters' classic shuffle, Blow Wind Blow in Earl style and it's great. With Diane Blue handling the lead vocals nicely, Dave Limina on B3, Paul Kochanski on bass and Forrest Padgett on drums and Peter Ward sharing the guitar work with Earl, this is a solid opener. Slow blues, Blues For Duke Robillard, is prime Earl. I know that this may sound repetitive, but although Earl is an excellent player across the spectrum, his flow and chops on slow blues instrumentals are really tops in todays market. His feel, phrasing and tone is excellent and this track is an excellent example. With a slight uptick, Anthony Geraci's A Prayer For Tomorrow, is another great jam showing Earl not only with strong lead phrasing but gripping trem bends and lush chords under the beautiful key work of Geraci. Very nice. Another great shuffle, Dave's Groove, has just the right feel with Earl playing just behind the beat adding nice tension. Mario Perrett lets it fly on tenor sax giving the track a fat horn push along with Limina's B3 work. Excellent! Percy Mayfield's Please Send Me Someone To Love features Blue again on lead vocal and powerful horn work by Perrett on tenor and Mark Earley on bari sax adding a real soulful feel. The warm B3 tone by Limina and Padgett's light drum rhythm lends an excellent slate for Earl's clean, complimentary guitar soloing. Clocking in at over 10 minutes, a terrific track. Wrapping the release is Higher and Higher, further reinforcing the R&B influences throughout the release. Blue gets a great groove going, backed by Tess Ferraiolo on backing vocals and with the warm, gospel feel of  Limina on B3 and piano, excellent sax work by Perrett and Earley really sets the stage for Earl's highlighted guitar accents. Very nice closer for a strong release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Thursday, June 9, 2022

Stacy Jones Band - World On Fire - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, World On Fire, by the Stacy Jones Band, and it's a solid blues rocker. Opening with blues rocker, Jefferson Way, Stacy Jones on lead vocal wails the blues both vocally and on harmonica. With Jeff Menteer on electric slide guitar, Tom Jones on bass and heavy drum work by Rick J Bowen. Juke is a cool shuffle featuring Stacy on harmonica and she does a real nice job holding up a nice Chicago vibe. Tom Jones leads on vocal on Willie Dixon's Insane Asylum, an easy coasting blues along the lines of St James Infirmary. His voice, contrasted with the wild, high intensity vocal of Stacy gives this track real teeth. Very nice. Derek Trucks' Midnight In Harlem is handled nicely with Stacy on vocal and  Menteer on slide. Very solid cover of a cool, contemporary blues track. Another cover track, Aretha's Think, maintains Aretha's arrangement and Jones does a real nice job,  on vocals and adding blues harmonica adds yet another dimension. Gene Laukkunen on sax and Mike Gunther on trumpet also adds nicely to the overall feel. Wrapping the release is acoustic track, With Music On My Side featuring nice harmonica and Menteer on acoustic guitar backing the best vocals on the release. 

Monday, June 6, 2022

David Lumsden - Rooted In The Blues - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Rooted In The Blues, by David Lumsden, and it's quite good. Opening with Chuck Berry style rocker, I Wouldn't Lay My Guitar Down,  David Lumsden on lead vocal and guitar sets the pace and Ian Buschmann's bari sax work sets a nice bar. Joined by Tim Bahm on piano, Gary Davis on bass and Jim Engel on drums, a cool opener. Ruthless Boogie has a great groove with Lumsden hitting the pace on guitar and solid bass lines by Davis and relentless organ work by Bahn. One of my favorite tracks on the release is Hooked On Somethin' with it's slow boogie beat. I love these old style blues rockers and featuring  Reggie Britton on lead vocal and with Lumsden paired with Davis on bass, this track smokes. Ode to Jimi AKA Slow Burn is a really cool instrumental really featuring Lumsden on Hendrix fused guitar riffs. This is a real solid track with cool clavinet work by Bahn. Wrapping the release is Everything Is Broken, a cool blues rocker featuring Kylan Davis on lead vocal. With it's rugged radio styling, this could be the radio track from the release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Friday, June 3, 2022

Stony Plain Records artist: HOROJO Trio - Set The Record - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Set The Record, from HOROJO Trio and I really like it. Opening with rocker, Man of Steel, lead vocalist Jeff Rogers who also plays keys leads the way, with well known guitar slinger JW-Jones on guitar and Jaime Holmes doing a great job on drums really get it ramped up. R&B track, Set The Record Straight has a lightly funky rhythm and the real richness of Rogers vocals shine through. Jones, who lead the vocal charge on his own solo releases and Holmes do a terrific job blending backing vocals making this a tight vocal effort.  One of my favorite tracks on the release is Stay Crazy with it's soulful feel and terrific lead vocals. With it's radio melody and Jones tasty guitar riffs, this track is very nice. Another particularly strong track is The Night with has a terrific melody, strong lead vocal by Rogers who adds warm organ backing and includes a sweet guitar solo by Jones. Very nice. Contemporary blues rocker, Give and Take gives Jones a real chance to show his blues roots with excellent riffs highlighting the track. Holmes takes charge on "James Brown" like rhythm as Jones and Rogers trade vocal/guitar lead on Something You Should Know. This track really moves out and Jones slides right in with a crisp guitar solo that really capps the track and Holmes showboats a little himself adding real icing to this cake.  Real Deal begins as a high intensity rocker with HOROJO firing on high but slows to a really nice blues giving Jones a great opportunity to show his blues chops and that he does. Rogers is just what Jones needed to give him a wider audience with excellent pipes on this new release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Thursday, June 2, 2022

Soul Sound Records artist: Markey Blue Ric Latina Project - Jumpin' The Broom - New Release Review

 


I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Jumpin' The Broom, from Markey Blue Ric Latina Project and it's a cool mix of pop, soul and blues rock. Opening with shuffle, Bad For Real, Ric Latina on guitar, Randy Coleman on bass and Dave Northrup set a solid pace. Lead singer Markey Blue takes the reins and carries the melody. With a cool, low key bottom, Latina lays in some nice riffs making this a solid opener. With a more active, New Orleans style rhythm by Northrup and Coleman, and cool slide by Latina, Little Betty is my favorite track on the release with nicely styled vocal lead by Markey. Funky, Be With Me has a real nice feel with the addition of Chris West on horns and Markey really hitting the slot. Latina gets a nice opportunity to lay down a fluid lead solo and that really adds nicely. Latin flavored, Lowdown Voodoo Woman has a subtle rhythm and flowing vocal lead by Markey but hits the groove nicely and Latina's guitar work is really clean and supple with just the right flavor to get it done. Wrapping the release is cool soul ballad, Where Are You, featuring Markey right up front with warm key work by Shannon Wickline. This track definitely has the radio sound and is likely to be the radio favorite from the release with it's memorable melody and clean, melodic guitar soloing by Latina. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Wednesday, June 1, 2022

Bible & Tire Recording Company artist: Johnny Ray Daniels - Whatever You Need - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Whatever You Need, from Johnny Ray Daniels, and it's solid blues, R&B, soul and gospel. Opening with title track, Whatever You Need, Johnny Ray Daniels' silky smooth voice leads the way. With potent backing vocals by Anthony "Amp" Daniels and Keamber Daniels, Johnny Ray on guitar, Will Sexton on guitar and piano, Matt Ross-Spang on guitar, Mark Edgar Stuart on bass, Will McCarley on drums and Rick Steff on Hammond, this is a great opener. With a driving strut, God Is Able, is up next and Johnny Ray has just the perfect feel to deliver the song. Often I feel it isn't just melodic strength but timing and feel that makes or breaks a track and Johnny Ray has it. Lord You've Been Good To Me has a grat call and response between Johnny Ray, Amp and Keamber, Their vocal blending is solid and the feel of the track is warm and inviting. One of my favorite tracks on the release is Church Get Ready with it's pure gospel sound. Johnny Ray soulful lead vocal is smooth and Steff's Hammond work saddles the backing vocals nicely. Wrapping the release is Thank You Lord, sung A capella really with a minimal organ backing. Johnny Ray really gets the pipes humming over the solid backing of Amp and Keamber making this a terrific closer. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Friday, May 27, 2022

Josh Hyde - Parish Blues - New Release Review

 


I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Parish Blues, from Josh Hyde and it presents a cool interpretation of modern blues. Opening with Where To Start, Josh Hyde on vocal and guitar shows his natural writing abilities with a strong melody and cool blues guitar riffs. Joined by  Jamey Bell on drums, Jimmy Wallace on keys, Rockin Jake on harmonica, Shawn Stroope on bass and Derrek Phillips on percussion, this is a great opener. In a more traditional delta style, I Can't Leave The Night is very cool with a John Lee Hooker like approach to the blues. I really like this track. With a James Brown rhythm, Stuck In A Rut really shows ingenuity, blending that trademark sound with blues underpinnings. With keyboards, bass and drums under the vocal and tight guitar riffs, this is a very solid track. Wrapping the release is easy, radio track, So Sweet, with Hyde on lead vocal and guitar over light drums, bass and keys. This is a cool release with a taste of everything.




View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Stony Plain Records artist: The Duke Robillard Band - They Called It Rhythm & Blues - New Release Review


 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, They Called It Rhythm & Blues, by The Duke Robillard Band,  and it's another stellar performance by the Duke and his crew. Opening with swing blues, Here I'm Is, Chris Cote on lead vocal really does a nice job with excellent fluid guitar lead by Robillard, and solid backing by Bruce Bears on keys, Marty Ballou on bass, Mark Teixeira on drums and Doug James on sax. Fools Are Getting Scarcer, James really does a great job stepping out on bari and tenor sax solos over a hot R&B feel. Excellent! Kim Wilson takes the lead on Tell Me Why with his trademark vocals and solid harmonica work. Robillard's guitar lead is impeccable and the band is solid. John Hammond is up front on Homeless Blues with his delta based vocal and playing style. I really like Hammond and am glad to see him on this release. With distinctive drum work by Teixeira and piano by Bears, this track is one of my favorites. Freddy King's Someday After Awhile, is a real showcase for both Cote and Robillard with exceptional vocal lead and plenty of room for Duke to stretch. Very nice. Kim Wilson does a rework on Guitar Slim's Things I Used To Do, The Things I Forgot To Do,  and Wilson works it nicely. Duke's guitar soloing really captures the styling of Slim and the piano work of Bears is spot on, with reinforcement by James and Mark Earley on sax. Very cool. Wrapping the release is hot instrumental jam, Swingin' For Four Bills, featuring really nice front work by Duke, Sue Foley and Mike Flanigin.  This is a super track and great closer for Robillard on this newest release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Tuesday, May 24, 2022

Van Der Linden Recordings artist: Mississippi Heat - Madeleine - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Madeleine, from Mississippi Heat and it a packed solid with blues and blues drenched music. Opening with driving blues rocker, Silent Too Long, Brian Quinn on bass and Terrence Williams set the pace, with Giles Corey laying down some hot guitar riffs and great lead vocals by Carl Weathersby, B3 by Chris Cameron and excellent harmonica riffs by Pierre Lacocque. Solid opener. On Chicago style blues, Uninvited Guest, guitar master Lurrie Bell has the mic and lead guitar duties. With Kenny Smith on drums, this track sets up nicely to showcase Lacocque's harmonica mastery. Daneshia Hamilton really takes charge with excellent vocals on Ridin' On A Hit with backing vocals by Nanette Frank, Diane Madison and Mae Koen. With a super bass line by Quinn and strong harmonica work by Lacocque, this is one of my favorite tracks on the release. Michael Dotson gets the spotlight on Everybody Do Something with excellent vocals and strong slide guitar. An extended harmonica solo on this track by Lacocque really adds a super edge. Very cool. Title track, Madeleine, is an excellent instrumental, lead by the melodic improvisation of Lacocque on harmonica. Bell adds a really nice lead guitar solo of his own over the backing of Quinn, Cameron on piano and Kenny Smith on drums. Excellent! Wrapping the release is shuffle, Trouble with the rich vocal lead of Inetta Visor. A great walking bass line by Quinn, fluid harmonica work by Lacocque, Cameron on B3 and strong backing vocal by Frank, Madison and Koen makes this an excellent closer for a strong release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE



Monday, May 23, 2022

Blue Heart Records artist: Bobby Gentilo - Gentilo - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Gentilo, from Bobby Gentilo, and it's a solid blend of blues, rock, pop, soul and blues. Opening with Disease, a pop rocker this release is off to a good start with a great melody and rhythm along the lines of Eagles of Death Metal. With Bobby on lead vocal on vocal, bass, keys and guitar, and Jason Hoffheins on drums this is a cool opener. Soul soaked, Tell Me is another track with real commercial potential. Rich vocals by Bobby, B3 by Benjie Porecki, Hoffheins on drums, and Logan Kurtek on sax makes for one of those that sticks in your brain. Hoffheins lays down a snappy drum rhythm on Ghost and with Bobby on guitar and Porecki on keys, this track has the feel of an updated Hill Country blues. Very nice. Shifting gears, The Greatest, has a real R&B feel with smooth vocals and strong bass by Bobby and tight drum rhythms by Hoffheins. Slow blues, Treat Me So Mean is a nice track with blues roots. Bobby on guitar and vocal, supported by Porecki on keys makes for another solid entry.  My favorite track on the release is Tire Fire with a real Hill Country flavor. Featuring Tony Ryder on bass and Bobby on guitar this track really grinds in. Excellent. Wrapping the release is funky bottomed, Higher,  with Chris Engel on drums, Juan Guillermo Aguillar on percussion, Dale Wise on drums and Bobby on guitar and vocal. maintaining the basic stripped down Hill Country like rhythm, this is a strong closer for a solid release.  


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Friday, May 20, 2022

Eliza Neals: Badder To The Bone - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Badder To The Bone, from Eliza Neals and its a power blues rocker. Opening with United We Stand  with heavy tom tom's on a Bo Diddley beat by Jeffrey Fowlkes and slide guitar by Michel Puwal, Neals is on a roll. On slow blues, Queen of the Nile, Neals shows real soul on vocals, playing piano and taking names. Backed by Jason Kott on bass and Tim Grogan on drums, and featuring Lance Lopez laying down some excellent blues riffs on guitar and Peter Keys on B3, this is an excellent track. With a tango rhythm and nicely blended vocals, the stylistic guitar work of Puwal makes Bucket of Tears a real standout. Soulful, Heathen, drips with southern soul under the vocal control of Neals and with the thick B3 and piano work of John Gavin. Steve Winwood's Can't Find My Way Home is always great to hear and Neals puts her special touch on it with firm vocal lead and nice backing, topped with strong guitar lead work by Lopez. Wrapping the release is Queen of the Nile II, a foreshortened rip of the earlier track but still tasty and with excellent guitar riffs by Lopez. Excellent closer for a tasty release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Gulf Coast Records artist: Albert Castiglia - I Got Love - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, I Got Love, from Albert Castiglia and it's a strong blues rocker. Opening with title track, I Got Love, Castiglia is upfront with solid vocals and his aggressive guitar style, backed by Justine Tompkins on bass, Lewis Stephens on keys and with power drumming from Ephraim Lowell. Sanctuary seems a natural for the radio track with it's memorable melody and restrained feel. Castiglia's vocals are real nice and his guitar riffs just right. Double Down is a really cool blues rocker with a James Brown beat and some really tasty guitar riffs. Whew! Pulling out the slide on shuffle, Long Haul Daddy, Castiglia really rips it. This is definitely one of my favorite tracks on the release and one that will leave you wanting more. Funky, Depression Blues will make you sweat with it's aggressive bass line and bottom and full out soloing by Castiglia. Excellent! Wrapping the release is Take My Name Out Of Your Mouth sounding like the echo that happened before the event. With it's slower pace, poise and solid vocals, Castiglia sets up the winding guitar solo nicely and spikes it. This is a real solid release with hot guitar throughout. 



View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 
 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE