CLICK ON TITLE BELOW TO GO TO PURCHASE!!!! CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Small Faces - The Decca Years ft. B-sides, outtakes, sessions, interviews and hits

1965 - 1967

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of their debut release comes this stunning 5-CD boxed set which brings together, for the first time, everything that the Small Faces recorded for Decca during their 18-month record deal with the label, along with the last remaining recording sessions that the group made for the BBC during the same period. For this project, hitherto ‘lost’ tapes have been unearthed from the Decca archives and BBC material, long thought lost and not heard since first broadcast, have been found. This includes a great Steve Marriott interview with Brian Matthew, which has not been officially heard in the UK since it was made by the BBC Transcription Services for transmission overseas. In total, 5 BBC interviews with Steve Marriott are featured.

All of the audio, including the rarities and alternative versions, has been carefully remastered from original analogue sources under the close supervision of Small Faces’ last remaining member Kenney Jones.

Housed in a rigid, deluxe, lift-off lid box set, the 5CDs come complete with a 72-page booklet, which includes interesting and insightful liner notes by respected music journalist and Small Faces aficionado, Mark Paytress. The notes track the group’s eventful and prolific 18-month tenure with their charismatic manager, renowned music impresario Don Arden, and Decca Records and their subsequent split from both to join Andrew Loog Oldham and Immediate Records. All is amply illustrated by fascinating press cuttings and photographs from the time.

Small Faces were the quintessential 1960s mod band. Fronted by the charismatic Steve Marriott, perhaps Britain’s most soulful white vocalist ever, the band dominated the second half of the 1960s. Marriott, together with bassist Ronnie Lane, Drummer Kenney Jones and Hammond-player, Ian McLagan (who replaced original keyboard player Jimmy Winston early on) created an impressive body of work, evolving from high octane mod-soul and beat-pop in the earlier days into a more sophisticated blend of rock and psychedelia. Their influence casts a wide net, with their legacy still heard in more recent times from such artists as Paul Weller, Blur, Oasis, Ocean Colour Scene and countless others. The music, which included many memorable chart hits (What’Cha Gonna Do About It, Sha La La La Lee, All Or Nothing plus many more) continues to resonate and appeal to a whole new generation of music-lovers.

CD 1

GREATEST HITS: Worldwide singles As, Bs & EPs

1. What'Cha Gonna Do About It
2. What's A Matter Baby
3. I've Got Mine
4. It's Too Late
5. Sha La La La Lee
6. Grow Your Own
7. Hey Girl
8. Almost Grown
9. All Or Nothing
10. Understanding
11. My Mind's Eye
12. I Can't Dance With You
13. I Can't Make It
14. Just Passing
15. Patterns
16. E Too D
17. Don't Stop What You're Doing
18. Come On Children
19. Shake
20. One Night Stand
21. You Need Loving

CD 2


Original UK LP Decca LK 4790
Released 6 May 1966
UK chart position: no.3

1. Shake
2. Come On Children
3. You Better Believe It
4. It's Too Late
5. One Night Stand
6. What'Cha Gonna Do About It
7. Sorry She's Mine
8. Own Up Time
9. You Need Loving
10. Don't Stop What You're Doing
11. E Too D
12. Sha La La La Lee

CD 3


Original UK LP Decca LK 4879
Released 2 June 1967
UK chart position: no.17

1. Runaway
2. My Mind's Eye
3. Yesterday, Today And Tomorrow
4. That Man
5. My Way Of Giving
6. Hey Girl
7. (Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me
8. Take This Hurt Off Me
9. All Or Nothing
10. Baby Don't You Do It
11. Plum Nellie
12. Sha La La La Lee
13. You've Really Got A Hold On Me
14. What'Cha Gonna Do About It

CD 4


1. Come On Children (alternate version)
2. Shake (alternate version)
3. You Better Believe It (alternate version)
4. Own Up Time (alternate version)
5. E Too D (alternate version)
6. Don't Stop What You're Doing (alternate version)
7. What's A Matter Baby (alternate mix)
8. What'Cha Gonna Do About It (alternate version)
9. Sha La La La Lee (stereo version)
10. Runaway (alternate mix) (stereo)
11. That Man (alternate mix)
12. Yesterday, Today And Tomorrow (alternate mix)
13. Picanniny (backing track)
14. Hey Girl (alternate version)
15. Take This Hurt Off Me (different version)
16. Baby Don't You Do It (different version)
17. My Mind’s Eye (early version) (mono)
18. Talk To You (take 5 backing track)
19. All Our Yesterdays (take 7 backing track)
20. (Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me (alternate take 2)
21. Show Me The Way (take 3 backing track)
22. I Can't Make It (take 11 backing track)
23. Things Are Going To Get Better (take 14 session version)

CD 5


BBC Studios - Saturday Club - 23-Aug-65

1. Interview with Steve Marriott
2. What’cha Gonna Do About It (BBC Session version)
3. Jump Back (BBC Session version)
4. Baby Don’t You Do It (BBC Session version)

BBC Studios - Joe Loss Pop Show - 14-Jan-66

5. Sha La La La Lee (BBC Session version)
6. What’cha Gonna Do About It (BBC Session version)
7. Comin' Home Baby (BBC Session version)
8. You Need Loving (BBC Session version)
9. Steve Marriot Pop Profile Interview

BBC Studios - Saturday Club - 14-Mar-66

10. Shake (BBC Session version
11. Interview with Steve Marriott
12. Sha La La La Lee (BBC Session version)
13. You Need Loving (BBC Session version)

BBC Studios - Saturday Club - 3-May-66

14. Interview with Steve Marriott
15. Hey Girl (BBC Session version)
16. E to D (BBC Session version)
17. One Night Stand (BBC Session version)

BBC Studios - Saturday Club 3-Aug-66

18. You’d Better Believe It (BBC Session version)
19. Understanding (BBC Session version)
20. Interview with Steve Marriott
21. All Or Nothing (BBC Session version)

Buy the collection HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment