CLICK ON TITLE BELOW TO GO TO PURCHASE!!!! CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at

Friday, July 29, 2011

The Rooftop Recordings - David Philips - New release review

I just completed a few listens of the new David Philips recording. The recording is focused and quiet. Grab a cup of coffee, a news paper and enjoy a quiet day.

David Philips lives in a roof top apartment at the top of a block of flats in Barcelona, Spain. When it came time to record these songs, he decided to record at home. He set up a few mics in the room that leads on to the same roof terrace where he likes to write his music.

The songs are stripped down to the bare bones, just voice, a guitar (be it regular 6 string Acoustic, 3 string Cigar Box Guitar, 4 string Ukulele or Lap style Dobro), a little harmonica now and then and maybe some foot stomping. No overdubs, just live, one take and if you listen carefully you'll hear in the background a soundscape created by the people and creatures David shares his environment with, just like any other day up there on the roof.

1. Help Me To Forget
2. You Didn’t Make Me
3. Our Own Hands
4. Raised In The North
5. What Am I ?
6. Kind Stranger
7. South East Breeze
8. Tied Up, Gagged And Bound
9. Stones Throw
10. Mountain To Climb
11. When I’m Drunk
12. Kind Stranger (reprise)

Total playing time 42:04

The official release date is September 9, 2011.

1 comment: