CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!


Please email me at Info@Bmansbluesreport.com
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Endrick & The Sandwiches - Sunny Soul - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Sunny Soul, from Endrick & the Sandwiches and it's an interesting blend of folk, and pop/rock tunes with a number of twists and bends. Opening with Mambo Intro, Endrick Tremblay sets up dialog over what sounds like electronic durms... rolling into Cheeseburger Blues, a blues shaped pop tune featurning Endrick on vocal and guitar, Mandela Coupal Dalgleish on drums, Simon Ethier on bass and Anne Lauziere on backing vocals. Mama's Rollerblade is a cool pop rocker with a tight rock edge, along the lines of The Eagles of Death Metal. Another tight little rocker is My Money with a a cool guitar riff by Endrick and a solid bass line by Ethier. Possibly my favorite on the release. Soul based, You Don't Need A Crowd To Be A Star, is short but cool with nicely worked vocals. The Party has a blues rocky feel with minimal guitar lead and cool harmonica by Endrick and blended vocal backing. Crossing over into a funk, How Do I Know About SC? has a straight up drum beat and vocals that breaks into a Frank Zappa like turmoil before returning back to a light female lead rap. The closer on the release is Doing Well (Sunny Soul) is a cool funk rocker with lead vocal melody and guitar riffs over low key drums by  Dalgleish and keyboard by Endrick. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Monday, June 21, 2021

BEM Records artist: Eamonn McCormack - Storyteller - New Release Review


 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Storyteller, from Irish blues-rock sensation, Eamonn McCormack and it touches on many faces of european rock. Opening with The Great Famine, a folky rock tune with atmospheric backing and tight rock guitar riffs, Eamonn (pronounced A-min) McCormack  leads on vocal and guitar, backed by Edgar Karg on bass, Max Jung-Poppe on drumsand Arne Weigand on keys. Sounding a bit like David Bowie with the Beatles, Help Me To Understand is a sool, low key rocker with a solid bass line by Karg and powerful vocals by Eamonn. Jacking up the rock side of the business, Tie One On sounds like it's heavily influenced by Thin Lizzy with it's snappy drum rhythm and super Rory Gallagher like slide work. Very cool. One of my favorite tracks on the release is hard driving, Cowboy Blues, with it's tight bottom and slashing slide work. Very cool. On blues ballad, In A Dream, McCormack is up front on vocal with solid support from Weigand on organ and long, melodic guitar lead giving the track broad crowd appeal. Another of my favorites on the release s straight up rocker, With No Way Out. Tight drumming and a driving bass line is the secret here with simple straight ahead rhythm. Cold Cold Heart has a lot of swagger with a solid walking bass line, creative vocal presentation and rowdy guitar work. Very cool. Wrapping the release is tight rocker, Make My Move, with high energy drums, a thumping bass and soaring roffs complimenting McCormack's vocal work. This is a diverse release with some real cool rock onboard. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Wednesday, June 16, 2021

Etta James - The Montreux Years - New release review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, The Montreux Years, from Etta James and it's dynamite. Opening with Breakin' Up Somebody's Home, Etta James hits like a truck on lead vocal, supported by Herman Roscoe Ernest III on drums, Ronnie Buttacavoli on trumpet, Bobby Murray on guitar, Josh Sklair on guitar, Bobby Vega on bass, Kraig Kilby on trombone, Richard Howell on sax, David Matthew on keyboards, Donto James on percussion and Claude Nobs on harmonica. Great opener. Emotionally charged, A Lover Is Forever, is a quiet contrast to the opener with James wooing the mic over the electro acoustic guitar work of Murray and Sklair. Very nice. Rockin, Tell Mama, has great drive, with hot vocal by James, backed by Klaus Doldinger on sax, Lew Soloff on trumpet, Rick Wakeman on keys, David Fathead Newman on sax, Brian Ray on guitar, Richard Tee on keys, Steve Ferrone on drums and David Lowrey on bass. R&B track, Something's Got A Hold On Me gets an uptempo, gospel like feel with backing by Ernst III, Buttacavoli, Murray. Jim Pugh on keys, Sklair on guitar, Vega on bass, Kirby on trombone, Donoto foster on percussion, Howell and Sametto Dennis on vocal. Excellent! Slinky, high stepper, Come To Mama is really great with a strong under pinning by Vega and Ernest III, a scorching guitar solo by Murray and great horn work by Buttacavoli, Kilby and Howell. A string of ballads including At Last, Trust In Me and Sunday Kind of Love is really nice, with james showcasing the jazz styling that made her famous. Very nice. Rolling the blues out big and strong, I Sing The Blues For You is wide open with a full jam by Murray, Sklair, Matthews and Richard Cousins and solid horn backing by Buttacavoli and Kilby. Closing the forst cd is Baby What You Want Me to Do with Brian Ray with a solid guitar solo , Cash McCall on guitar, Tony Cook on drums, Gene Dinwitty with a potent sax solo, fred Beckmeier on bass, Bobby Martin on keys, Keith Johnson on trumpet and Claude Nobs on harmonica. 

Disc 2 is all recorded in July of '75. Opening with a funky, Respect Yourself, James' vocals are gritty and tight, backed by Brian Ray on guitar, Frank Able on keys, Poindexter on sax, Klaus Doldinger on tenor sax, Johnson on tuba and bass trombone and John Paul Jones on bass. Drown In My Own Tears is an excellent soul track in the lines of Aretha '69 or her work at Muscle Shoals. Excellent! An excellent remake of her original track, I'd Rather Go Blind, is included her and she really works hard on that 9+ minute presentation. Very nice. Slow blues, Baby What You Want Me To Do, gives james a great opportunity to stretch thsi famous blues track to new heights. With her powerful vocals and the guitar work of Ray shining, backed by Poindexter, Doldinger, and Johnson, this is really cool. Wrapping the set is TBone Walker's Stormy Mondy with excellent guitar work by Ray and Albe's delicate key strokes setting the pace. The warm sax work of Poindexter prepares the way and james holds nothing back with a stellar vocal performance that pushes the band even further. Excellent closer for an excellent pair of discs.


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Nina Simone - The Montreux Years - New Release Review

 


I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, The Montreux Years, from Nina Simone and it's really a great representation of her live performances. This compilation covers all of her 5 Montreux performances. Disc one a composite of cuts from various years and disc two her 1968 performance in full. Opening with a demonstration of her classical training on piano on Someone to Watch Over Me, Simone really gets the keys rolling showig real keyboard prowess and power. On shuffle track, I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free, Simone lays down a simple piano line and sings with her casual but succinct style with heavy piano accent. Very cool. See-Line Woman with backing vocal has it's southern blues roots and chant like nature. Very much like primitive field hollars, it relates to prostitutes lining up to perform "favors" as the sailors come to shore. Don't Smoke In Bed is a fairly classic Simone track with it's dramatic classical/jazz piano presentation and Simone's soulful voice. African Mailman is a vibrant instrumental starting with piano and light snare, slowly building with tom toms, cowbell, and cymbal. Very cool. Liberian Calypso has a strong island rhythm with piano and percussion under Simone's strong vocal and crowd audience vocal participation. I really like this release but one of my favorites is Ne Me Quitte Pas, a Belgian ballad sung in french. With only her piano and vocal, this is a terrific track. Rocking the close on cd one is My Baby Just Cares For Me with Simone really rolling the keys. Her ability to get in the slot and drag you there with her is remarkable and this track is a cool closer for the disc. 

Disc 2 opens with Simone classic, Go To Hell with it's bulldozer like approach and terrific followthrough. Simone is on top of her game here and the vocals are strong and clear. On her own super hit, Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood, really popularized by the Animals, Simone maintains her easy, laid back approach. With Buck Clarke on drums, Gene Taylor on double bass, Sam Waymon on organ and perecussion and hot guitar by Henry Taylor, this is strong. Funky, Backlash Blues has a real groove, created by Clarke and Taylor, reinforced by Simone on vocal and piano. Great changeup in the middle of the set. The set is wrapped with two encores, Gin House Blues and I Wish I How It Would Feel To be Free. Gin House Blues gets a firey, R&B,  Ray Charles like make over that really gets the stage romping like a revival tent with extended solos by Clarke, Waymon, and Taylor. Very nice. Winding it down on I Wish, Simone has the audience in her hands. This is the perfect closer having laid it all out there and giving the crowd a chance to catch their breath with a gospel like sway.

This is an excellent release and one long coming.


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Friday, June 11, 2021

Put Together Music artist: The Reverend Shawn Amos - The Cause Of it All - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, The Cause Of It All, from The Reverend Shawn Amos and I think it's his best yet! Opening with Willie Dixon's Spoonful, Amos cuts it back to the bare necessities and I love his style. paired with guitarist, Chris "Doctor" Roberts, this is electrifying. Amos' vocals seem to scream out of the dark as do his harmonica riffs and the Doctor's fat toned guitar work is over the top. Excellent opener! Muddy Waters' Still A Fool is another excellent tract with the mostly clear (not distorted intentionally) vocals by Amos and warm throaty tones of the Doctor's guitar really carrying the word. Chester Burnett's Color And Kind leans more to super soulful vocals and warm, rich harmonica work by Amos. Powerful. A quiet rendition of Little Walter's, Can't Hold Out Much Longer, really works Amos on vocal and harmonica with no distortion and the Doctor on clean acoustic guitar. Very nice. Wrapping the release is Muddy Water's, Little Anna Mae. Amos really does a nice job of bringing out the blues left in this track by Morganfield and with clean, blues acoustic guitar riffs by the Doctor makes this an excellent closer. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Wednesday, June 9, 2021

Smiling Jack Smith & The New Panama Limited - Nowhere To Go But Up - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Nowhere To Go But Up, from Smiling Jack Smith & The New Panama Limited and it's an interesting blues rock set. Opening with Another Year Gone, a blues based rocker, Smiling Jack Smith leads the way on guitar and vocal, backed by David Herrington on tuba and Quique Villafane on drums. David Gwynn holds down the lead guitar role with some really nice riffs includig a few pinched harmonics and phrasing that would make Roy Buchanan proud. On easy folk blues, Been Worryin' it's the tuba backing by Herrington that really gets my attention under some of the best vocals on the release by Smith. Very nice. Uptempo rocker, Don't Pray Me No Prayers When I'm Gone, is a super to tapper with a country style flavor. Underlying tuba work by Herrington hits the mark. Randon Walk Start All Over Again is a cool, nearly spoken word track with a solid bass line (on tuba) and nicely phrased guitar lead by Gwynn. Laid back, Southbound Train, is a cool radio style track with a strong melody, western and slide style guitar work by Gwynn,  the the solid bottom by Herrington on tuba, and snappy drum riffs by Villafane. wrapping the release is title track, Nowhere To Go But Up, with it's sing along style and country flavoring. An extended guitar solo by Gwynn blends nicely with the acoustic work of Smith, Herrington on tuba and Villafane on drums. Good closer. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Monday, June 7, 2021

Blues Root Productions artist: Debbie Bond - Blues Without Borders - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release (July 9, 2021), Blues Without Borders, from Debbie Bond and considering our times and the proximities of remote players, quite remarkable. Thanks to cyber space, this album was completed in five separate studios and in the US and UK. Opening with High Rider Blues, Debbie Bond on vocal and guitar works with Rick Asherson on harmonica and  Micky Barker on drums for a cool opener. Let Me Be is my choice for radio track on the release with a straightforward melody, Bond on vocal and and some bluesy lead guitar, Asherson on keys and Barker on drums. The best vocal showcase on the release is Blue Rain with it's solid blues bottom and traditional blues riffs. Radiator, a soulful rocker features a cool sax solo by Brad Guin. Another strong soulful rocker is Let Freedom Ring with it's heartfelt lyrics and firm melody and tight keyboard backing by Asherton. Wrapping the release is country flavored rocker, Road Song with Bond on lead vocal and guitar, Asherson on harmonica and backing vocals. Solid closer. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Friday, June 4, 2021

Bible & Tire Recording Company release: The Last Shall Be First - The JCR Records Story, Vol 2 - New Release Review

 


I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release (June 18, 2021), The Last Shall Be First: The JCR Records Story, Vol. 2 and it's a great followup to last years release. Opening with Little Wooden Church, by The Silver Trumpets set a cool R&B pace with solid harmonies and cool guitar. The Calvary Nightengales with My Robe is one of my favorites with really rich lead lead vocal, solid backing vocals and cool electric guitar accompaniment. High energy, Stand By Me, by The Dixie Wondeers, jumps off of the record with super vocals and enthusiasm. Very cool. Another great track is Until My Days Are Gone by The Masonic Travelers with not only super vocals throughout but contagious energy. Excellent! Soulful, When I'm Gone, by The Dixie Harmonizers has great depth and richness. I like the basic approach of I'm A Changed Man, by The Dixiland Singers. With it's traditional call and response and solid singing, perfect. The Spiritual Harmonizers pump it up on It's a Needy Time with super lead vocal and grate harmony, bass guitar, light snare and cymbal. Wrapping the release is The Breckenridge Singers and Man on the Moon. A great track for closing with powerful lead vocal and bluesy understated guitar. Excellent closer.


 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Tuesday, June 1, 2021

Humu Records artist: Jarkka Rissanen & Sons of the Desert - Cargo - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Cargo, from Jarkka Rissanen & Sons of the Desert, and I think it's just the right kind of cool! Opening with Tomcat, a laid back R&B based track with Latin and Blues/Jazz influences, it just cruises like an early WAR record. With Jarkka Rissanen and Markus Vaisanen on guitars, Ilpo Komulainen on bass and Esa karki on drums and percussion, this is a solid opener. Title track, Cargo, is a real nice instrumental ballad featuring Rissanen on lead and baritone guitar melody. Although this track doesn't have the signature guitar riffs nor does it even attempt Jeff Beck's phenominal fretwork, I that Beck would gravitate to this sound. I know that I do. Excellent! Pow-Wow has a modernized Delta sound and a dash of hill country percussion with Rissanen on slide guitar and Vaisanen soloing on electric guitar over a firm bass line by Komulainen and sweet tom tom work by Karki. Very cool. Roll Call is another high strung rocker with artistic guitar work. With it's driving beat by Karki and Komulanian and great guitar interplay by Rissanen and Vaisanen, this music is good for your head. Wrapping the release is Once Upon A Time, an aeiry, Troweresque style composition with nicely flowing guitar melody, not in the form of rapid fire notes, but with blues feel and phrasing. Very nice closer for a solid new release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Friday, May 28, 2021

Dwane Dixon - Betting On A Gambling Man - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Betting on a Gambling Man, from Dwane Dixon and it's a cool blues rocker. Opening with rockabilly style title track, Betting on a Gambling Man, Dwane Dixon plays every note on the release with super vocals, solid guitar lead, bass and drums. On A World Of Hurt, Dixon's guitar tone is fat and meaty with cool Frank Marino like phrasing, broad stereophonic wizardry and a tight bottom. laying back in the pocket a bit on I Buried Your Bones, Dixon crafts a cool western style ballad on what may be my favorite track on the release. With it's solid melody, nicely blended vocals and a cool harmonica solo, it's likely the top radio selection on the release. Cool shuffle, Whiskey You Don't Lie, has a strong bass line and power vocals. A swinging country rocker, this track really moves. Wrapping the release is instrumental. The Awakening, with it's heavy bottom and eastern flavor. Dixon uses this "Stranglehold" like rhythm to dive the guitar fever into the ozone. Very cool.


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Thursday, May 27, 2021

Tommy Z - Plug In & Play - New Release Review

 


I just had the opportunity to review the newest release Plug In & Play, from Tommy Z and I really like it. Opening with Pumpin' (Let's Have Some Fun), a full bodied texas blues shuffle, Tommy lets the riffs roll off of his fingers like molasses.  His riffs are sweet, fat and juicy and his phrasing is solid. With Tom Scime on keys pumping up the fullness, Tommy really lets it fly and  David Hulett on drums and Dave Herr on bass, this is a really solid opener. Slow blues, Please Come Back To Me, is one of my favorites on the release with strong vocals by Tommy and controlled lead work that is really effective at raising the tension, balanced with Scime's organ work. Very nice. Title track, Plug in And Play has Rolling Stones or LS style attack on a driving rocker. Tommy MacDonald's bass playing and Tom Hambridge on drums have this track anchored and Z's vocals work great with his guitar swagger. Scowler has a strong radio melody and solid vocal blending by Z over a heavier more contemporary rock guitar tone giving it broader commercial appeal. Wrapping the release is Sticky Lips is a cool, jazzy number with a deep groove. A walking bass line by Dave Herr and light drums by Hulett under the rich organ work of Scime and the rich lead guitar work of Z makes this and excellent closer. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Wednesday, May 26, 2021

Circus Mind - Joy Machine - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Joy Machine, from Circus Mind and it's a funky music party. Opening with Are You Ready?, lead vocalist and keyboard player, Mark Reehler sets the pace backed by Chris Crosby on bass, Dave Berg on guitar, Dane roth on drums and Steve Finkelstein on percussion and featuring Brandon "Taz" Niederauer with an outrageous guitar solo. Solid opener.  Air Waves is another track with a funk laden backbeat but leaning more to jazz rock. With strong vocal blending and cool percussion by Finkelstein, this track has cool radio appeal. Longing Song is laid back and adventurous featuring rechler backing himself on keys and with a cool guitar solo by Nels Cline. One of my favorite tracks on the release, JazzFest Time has that New Orleans pumped up street jazz sound featuring Pablo Rodriquez on trombone, Michael Amendola on alto sax, Damien Pacheco on trumpet and Richard Bomzer on bari sax. This track really hums with the great percussion, punchy horn section and a terrific trombine solo by Rodriquez. Excellent! Three Muses has a real pop edge with Kevin Griffen on vocal and fat slide work by slide guitar work by Berg. Wrapping the release is Troubled Times, a solid pop track with Bill Titus with backing vocals by Elsie Testone and WW Washington and featuring some  key guitar riffs by Washington as well. A brassy send off a la BST wraps this release returning it to it's funy beginnings. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Thursday, May 20, 2021

Endless Blues Records artist: Chris Gill - Between Midnight and Louise - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Between Midnight and Louise, from Chris Gill and it's a cool folk blues release. Opening with Thank You For Another Day, Chris Gill slips right into the pocket with this nicely finger picked country blues instrumental. With thoughts of Honey Boy Edwards and Hubert Sumlin, delta style blues, Song For Honeyboy has great bones with Gill showing his absolute knowledge of delta style guitar playing. Very cool. Another beefy, delta style track is Fleas and Ticks showing really nice acoustic blues guitar riffs and a solid melody/vocal combo.  With a solid grip on a baritone  guitar, Gill really makes his slide talk. Fat tones and slide belong together. Magic. Wrapping the release is title track, Between Midnight and Louise. This track has a more contemporary ballad feel with a quiet melody played through a 31 National Duolian. It's metal body rings nicely throughout the lush melody. Cool closer. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Wednesday, May 19, 2021

Donna Herula - Bang At The Door - New Release Review


 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release (May 21, 2021), Bang At The Door, from Donna Herula and it's a cool mix of country, blues and pop. Opening with title track, Bang At the Door, Herula shows a real strength at pop music blending a strong melody backing herself on resonator, and with FJ Ventre on bass and Dana Thalheimer on drums. With a Latin beat, Pass The Biscuits is a cool track with a captivating beat. Herula's vocals and resonator work over the  snappy drum work of  Thalheimer, Doug Hammer on piano, Ventre on bass Tony Pons on trumpet and Rebecca Toon on backing vocals is a solid track. Acoustic ballad, Promise Me features Tony Nardiello on acoustic guitar, Jon Shain on mandolin and Ventre on bass under the solid vocal and resonator of Herula. Black Ice is one of my favorite tracks on the release with Herula playing in a pure country blues finger pick/slide technique backed by Ventre on percussion. Very nice. Bukka White's Fixin' To Die gets a really nice rework with an aggressive rhythm and hot slide riffs. Very nice. Got What I Deserve is an interesting blend of country, rock and blues with Herula singing duet with herself, backed by Anne Harris on fiddle, Jon Shain on acoustic guitar and Ventre on bass and tambourine. Blues rocker, Something's Wrong With My Baby, has solid radio appeal with strong vocal and melody, supported by Herula's effortless slide resonator backing. Wrapping the release is Blind Willie Johnson's The Soul Of A Man with a modern yet acoustic rock style update. Herula on lead vocal and resonator, backed by Katherine Davis, Nardiello, Jon Shain and Rebecca Toon on vocal and Ventre on bass. This is a subdued yet cool release with solid blues roots. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Tuesday, May 18, 2021

Stony Plain Records artist: Maria Muldaur with Tuba Skinny - Let's Get Happy Together - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Let's Get Happy Together, from Maria Muldaur and Tuba Skinny and it's captures the sound of the 20's and 30's. Opening with I Like You Best of All, Muldaur on vocal and Shaye Cohn on wild cornet, Todd Burdick on the anchor ... tuba, Barnabus Jones on super trombone, Jason Lawrence on 6 string banjo, Craig Flory with a great clarinet solo, Greg Sherman on guitar, Max Bien Kahn on guitar and Rubin Rupuzzi on washboard. I really like the clarinet / cornet play off each other. It sets the stage nicely and Jones is a strong trombone player so his work with Muldaur's vocals are classic. Taking the pace down quite a bit on Delta Bound, Flory and Jones again really work the track and Burdick's tuba work is terrific under Muldaur's vocals. I Go For That has great pace and excellent instrumental weaving that is so important in this period music as well as all Dixieland music. Very nice. One of Muldaur's showpiece vocals on the release is Big City Blues, originally performed by 30's star Annette Henshaw. Wrapping the release is Road of Stone, a special track to Muldaur who says it was recorded by Sweet Pea Spivey, sister of Victoria Spivey who discovered her. With trumpet lead and cool clarinet wailing, cornet and trombone soloing, this is a perfect closer for a cool release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Monday, May 17, 2021

Blue Dot Records artist: Wee Willie Walker - and The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra - Not In My Lifetime - New Release Review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release, Not In My Lifetime, from Wee Willie Walker and the Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra and I really like it! Opening with R&B track, Don't Let Me Get In Your Way Wee Willie Walker is strutting up front with the mic, backed by Anthony Paule on guitar, Tony Lufrano on keys, Endre Tarczy on bass, Kevin Hayes on drums, Bill Ortiz on trumpet, Charles Mcneal on tenor sax, Rob Sudduth on bari sax, Derek James on trombone and terrific backing vocals by Larry Batiste, Sandy Griffith and Omega Rae on backing vocals. Shifting into soul, Over and Over is one of my favorite tracks on the release with excellent vocal phrasing and warm vocal  backing. Another sweet soul tune is Darling Mine with great feeling and strong guitar solo phrasing by Paule. With a high strut, Jon Thomas' Heartbreak really kicks in with the horns and organ blazing. Ortiz lays out a really nice trumpet solo giving this track a real kick but of course it's Walker's vocals that really set sail. Slow blues, Suffering With The Blues has a great feel with warm horns and light jazz like guitar underpinning. Paule gets a real chance to shine here and his guitar feel is spot on. This is definitely one of the bluesy highlights of the release with excellent tone and phrasing. Wrapping the release is cool shuffle, 'Til You've Walked In My Shoes and Walker directing a great closer. His vocals are strong and with stylistic guitar work by Paule, punchy horn work by Ortiz, McNeal, Sudduth and James, this track is a really tight closer. Excellent! 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode

“Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE

Friday, May 14, 2021

Blue Heart Records artists: Rob Stone, Elena Kato & Hiroshi Eguchi - Trio In Tokyo - New release review

 I just had the opportunity to review the most recent release (May 21, 2021), Trio In Tokyo from Rob Stone, Elena Kato and Hiroshi Eguchi and it's a solid entry in Chicago blues. Opening with shuffle, No Money, Stone on vocal and harmonica leads the way with Elena Kato on piano and Hiroshi Eguchi on bass. This is a cool acoustic piece with tight rhythm work. With R&B bones, Come Back Baby really showcases the strength of katon on piano under the lead vocal work of Stone. Very nice. Big Jay McNeely's classic R&B track,  There Is Something On Your Mind, gets an even bluesier feel with harmonica and the solid piano work of Kato under the strong vocals on Stone. Jump track, Jack You You're Dead, made popular by Louis Jordan and later by Joe Jackson is punched up with the fleet finger work of Kato, strong the bass line of Eguchi and the punchy harmonica and vocal work of Stone. Blow Fish Blow! is a strong instrumental featuring the lead harmonica soloing by Stone. Hot track and my favorite on the release. Wrapping the release is a powerful rendition of Ledbelly's Goodnight Irene featuring Stone on lead vocal and Kato adding gospel like piano support. Solid closer for a solid release. 


View Bman Blueswriter's profile on LinkedIn

  If you support live Blues acts, up and coming Blues talents and want to learn more about Blues news and Fathers of the Blues, Like ---Bman’s Blues Report--- Facebook Page! I’m looking for great talent and trying to grow the audience for your favorites band! ”LIKE”

 For added exposure - Blues World Wide Group "LIKE" 

  qrcode 

 “Like” Bman’s Facebook page and get support for your favorite band or venue - click HERE