CLICK ON TITLE BELOW TO GO TO PURCHASE!!!! CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at

Friday, March 25, 2016

Danny Marks Releases 'Cities In Blue'

Danny Marks Releases 'Cities In Blue'

Available at

Cities in Blue is the soundtrack recording to Danny Marks’ popular television series on HIFI TV. The musician / broadcaster will take you to the land where blues began and beyond. Travel up and down the blues highway on a road-trip over one hundred years in the making, from New Orleans, Mississippi, Memphis and Houston, to Piedmont, Kansas, Chicago, and New York. Cities In Blue explores the evolution of one of America’s most iconic music styles: The Blues.
Original songs and soundscapes by Danny Marks.

In addition to Marks on vocals and guitar, Cities In Blue features appearances from Canadian blues musicians Julian Fauth, David Rotundo, The Whiteley Brothers: Chris & Ken, Delta Sugar's Sherie Marshall, Fathead's Bucky Berger, film composer Jonathan Goldsmith, jazz guitar great Rob Piltch, session ace Al Cross and bassist Alec Fraser in the co-producer's chair.

Early Reviews of Cities In Blue

"The kind of album that I would make if I could sing and play.  It's all blues and no bull! - Dave “Daddy Cool” Booth, Whistle Radio

“A lovingly delivered, delicately-nuanced travelogue of blues, city-by-city, as he moves across the major blues centres, stylistically and otherwise.” - Eric Thom 

…an education for blues fans and provides insight into the evolution of the music. Although the songs are new and written by Danny Marks, they lovingly capture the feel of each region.” - Holger Petersen, Stony Plain Records

Here's the collection blues fans who watched the Marks-hosted HIFI TV series Cities In Blue have been calling for since it started airing in 2014.” - Bob Mersereau, Top 100 Canadian Singles

In many cases, you'd swear Marks and company were reviving some great old blues tunes that had undeservedly fallen into obscurity.” - Mark Rheaume, CBC Radio

“Played 3 songs from the new Cities in Blue album by Danny Marks. Great reaction from the audience. The album is different and fresh. Love it.” - Dave Marsden, Curator

Cities In Blue Track List

  1. Houston To L.A. (2:11)
  2. Belt Line Blues (2:50)
  3. Once I Was Crazy (5:29)
  4. Kansas City Shout (2:23)
  5. Memphis Got Soul (2:37)
  6. Heading Down To New Orleans (2:09)
  7. Blues Came To Chicago (2:50)
  8. Going Down The Road (4:04)
  9. Hey, New York Town! (5:15)
  10. Land Where Blues Began (5:07)
  11. Lights Out (3:00) *bonus track

No comments:

Post a Comment