CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at

Monday, July 14, 2014

Stony Plain Records Set to Reissue MonkeyJunk's First Album, "Tiger in Your Tank," with Two Bonus Tracks, On July 29

Stony Plain Records Set to Reissue MonkeyJunk’s First Album, Tiger in Your Tank, with Two Bonus Tracks, On July 29

2009 Album Originally Won Blues Music Award as “Best Artist Debut”

EDMONTON, AB – Stony Plain Records announces a July 29 release date for Tiger in Your Tank, a reissue with two bonus tracks of the first album from multi-award winning Ottawa-based group, MonkeyJunk. Originally released in 2009 on the band’s own Beefy label imprint, Tiger in Your Tank went on to capture the blues world’s imagination, kick-starting the band’s international career and winning both the Blues Music Award as “Best Artist Debut” and the Canadian Indie Award for “Blues Album of the Year.”

The reissue version of Tiger in Your Tank has been remastered and includes two new tracks especially recorded for it: “Lucky One” and “Pueblo,” both written by MonkeyJunk band members Steve Marriner, Tony D and Matt Sobb. MonkeyJunk is Canada’s most-acclaimed blues/roots music band and the trio tours regularly throughout Canada and at major festivals in North America and Europe. 

Tiger in Your Tank follows last year’s critically-acclaimed CD, All Frequencies, and their 2011 label debut, To Behold, both of which garnered rave reviews and extensive radio airplay around the world. Comprised of Steve Marriner (vocals, harmonica, keyboards, baritone guitar), Tony D (lead guitar, background vocals) and Matt Sobb (drums, percussion, background vocals), MonkeyJunk plays a mix of swamp blues and funky roots rock ‘n’ roll. For the uninitiated, the band takes its name from a chance remark by legendary bluesman Son House: “I’m talkin’ ‘bout the blues. I ain’t talkin’ about monkey junk.”

Tiger in Your Tank features nine original songs composed by the band, as well as distinctively-impressive covers of songs from Willie Dixon (“I Wanna Put a Tiger in Your Tank”), Magic Sam (“Give Me Time”), Otis Rush (“If You Were Mine”) and Leon Russell/Chris Blackwell (“Boogie Man”).

In January of this year, MonkeyJunk won honors in five categories at Canada’s Maple Blues Awards, including Recording of the Year, Electric Act of the Year, Entertainers of the Year and Songwriters of the Year. In addition, the group’s Steve Marriner won the Harmonica Player of the Year award. 

Tiger in Your Tank Tracklist and Songwriting Credits

1)I Wanna Put A Tiger In Your Tank (Willie Dixon)
2)Small Time Evil (Diteodoro/Marriner/Sobb)
3)Give Me Time (Sam Maghett)
4)If You Were Mine (Otis Rush)
5)When Push Comes To Shove (Steve Marriner)
6)Beefy (Diteodoro/Marriner/Sobb)
7) Pay The Cost (Diteodoro/Marriner/Sobb)
8) Boogie Man (C. Blackwell/L. Russell)
9) Leave The Rest To You (Diteodoro/Marriner/Sobb)
10)Blues For Anna (Tony Diteodoro)
11) Gutsy (Diteodoro/Marriner/Sobb)
12) Lucky One (Diteodoro/Marriner/Sobb) – bonus track
13) Pueblo (Diteodoro/Marriner/Sobb) – bonus track

For more information, visit and

No comments:

Post a Comment