CD submissions accepted! Guest writers always welcome!!

I started a quest to find terrific blues music and incredible musicianship when I was just a little kid. I also have a tremendous appreciation of fine musical instruments and equipment. One of my greatest joys all of my life was sharing my finds with my friends. I'm now publishing my journey. I hope that you come along!

Please email me at

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Here Comes The Hurricane: Vancouver's Dave "Hurricane" Hoerl Releases Un-Twisted

Here Comes The Hurricane: Vancouver's Dave "Hurricane" Hoerl Releases Un-Twisted
June 24, 2014
Multiple award-winning musician Dave “Hurricane” Hoerl is a force to be reckoned with on the North American blues scene. One of Canada’s foremost harmonica players, his mastery of the harmonica -both standard and chromatic - as well as his soulful vocals, and charismatic, memorable performances make him stand out on any stage.
Born and raised in San Francisco, Hoerl has made Vancouver his home since 1982 and for over three decades has been performing at clubs and festivals around the world, most notably as the founding member of Vancouver’s legendary jump blues band The Twisters. Un-Twisted is Hoerl’s first recording under his own name and features members of his band, Hurricane and the Hooligans, comprised of some of Vancouver’s best blues musicians.
Un-Twisted features 11 standout tracks including “Soul Mate”, a shout-out to Hoerl’s wife, “Snake Charmer”, a fun track with plenty of double-entendre, “Don’t Think It Can’t Happen To You”, a reminder that nobody is immune to tragedy and bad fortune, and “Grand Old Game”, possibly one of the only modern blues songs written about one of North America’s favourite sports - baseball.
Un-Twisted is a brilliant showcase for Hoerl’s soulful singing, perfect playing and stimulating songwriting, serving up one vivid slice of life after another.


“This hard workin’ harmonicist is surely worthy of his many accolades, and this CD will no doubt add a pile more.” - Paul 
Norton, CiTR 101.9 Code Blue & CFRO 100.4 One O’clock Jump

Listen to "Snakecharmer" on Soundcloud

Track List
1. Soul Mate
2. Pure & Simple Blues
3. I’d Rather Be Blind, Crippled And Crazy
4. Snake Charmer
5. Fight of the Century
6. Don’t Think It Can’t Happen To You
7. Grand Old Game
8. She Took Back Her Heart
9. Long Highway
10. A Little Off The Top
11. I Left My Heart In San Francisco

No comments:

Post a Comment